triomoney.blogg.se

Imageoptim apple silicon
Imageoptim apple silicon















If you haven’t used macOS’s Migration Assistant before, it’s really smooth. I guess the plain cardboard box shape and next day air is a giveaway for Apple shipments. It took about a week to arrive, and I had a chat with the delivery driver, whose wife apparently got an M1 MacBook Air and had to buy a “dangle” to hook it up to her screens. And upgraded storage was going to add two weeks to shipping time. It has 512GB of storage on the base configuration, which I thought about future-proofing, but I had only filled the 512GB Mac mini to about 50%. I think 16" is too big, so I went with the 14" 2021 MacBook Pro, with the M1 Pro CPU and 16 GB of RAM. Initially I looked at the MacBook Air, but the small screen and the current model being 2 years old wasn’t selling me, although the next model is expected later this year. It will still make a decent Linux server though. The screen real estate is a tiny 1366x768, and both pointing devices are acting up (trackpad and pointing stick). The screen isn’t broken, it’s from that weird phase in 2012 when every PC laptop maker was trying to do tablet hybrids.Īnd while not fair but funny, here it is stacked on top of my 2021 MacBook Pro: I’ve also been wanting a new laptop lately, I don’t like being tied down to my desk and it’s nice to be able to move to another part of the house to work, or even potentially venture out into The Great Big World, and be that guy 1 in the coffee shop.įor reference, this is my old laptop, a 2012 ThinkPad X230 Tablet running Fedora.

IMAGEOPTIM APPLE SILICON UPDATE

Windows is not a bad platform, but I’ve spoiled myself by using macOS, in spite of the recent software update issues.

imageoptim apple silicon imageoptim apple silicon imageoptim apple silicon

I briefly thought about making my temporary switch back to Windows more permanent, but soon all my old nitpicks came back, and some new ones, too. It’s only two years old, but driving 4k displays was a real challenge for it, and a stark contrast compared to my Windows PC in performance. After a macOS update caused havoc with my external monitors, I started looking into replacing my 2018 i5 Mac mini.















Imageoptim apple silicon